McLean County Commission Proceedings Tuesday, January 03, 2023

The first regular January meeting of the Board of Commissioners was called to order at 8:33 a.m. by Chairperson Steve Cottingham. Present were Commissioners Cottingham, Steve Lee, and Barry Suydam. Also present were Auditor Beth A. Knutson; Deputy Auditor Diane L. Blumhagen; Road Superintendent Jim Grey; and Assistant Road Superintendent Travis Verke.

Grey presented an update on department operations reporting that widening of the roads has started. Grey requested approval to add additional assistance if needed in road widening efforts.

Moved by Lee, seconded by Suydam, to authorize the highway department to add additional assistance if needed. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Lee, Suydam, and Cottingham. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Grey informed the board a 2003 Sterling plow truck was purchased in the amount of \$36,050.00. Discussion followed.

Moved by Lee, seconded by Cottingham, to reappoint Don Flinn, Darwin Saari, and Rick Hultberg to the Planning & Zoning Commission for four-year terms; Shannon Jeffers to County Water Resource Board for a three-year term; Mike Thyberg and Paul Jacobson to the County Weed Control Board for four-year terms; Howard Anderson to Dakota Central Human Service Zone Board for a three-year term; Marshall Maxwell to the McLean County School Reorganization Committee for a three-year term; and Barry Suydam, and Kayla Oberlander to the McLean County Library Board for three-year terms, effective January 1, 2023. Discussion followed. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Suydam, Lee, and Cottingham. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Suydam, seconded by Lee, to appoint Todd Schreiner as Tax Director/Land Use Administrator for a one-year term; Todd Schreiner as Veterans Service Officer for a one-year term; Richard Johnson as E-911 Coordinator for a one-year term; Bonnie Bohnsack as Clerk of District Court for a one-year term; Jim Grey as Road Superintendent for a one-year term; and Noelle Kroll as Emergency Manager for a one-year term, effective January 1, 2023. Discussion followed. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Suydam, Lee, and Cottingham. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Suydam, seconded by Lee, to accept the change in mileage reimbursement for use of personal vehicles increasing from \$0.625 to \$0.655 as instituted by the North Dakota Association of Counties effective January 1, 2023. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Lee, Suydam, and Cottingham. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Received and ordered filed the fee collection report from the Sheriff's Department for the month of December in the amount of \$1,510.32.

Cammie Wright of NorDak North Publishing joined the meeting.

Moved by Suydam, seconded by Lee, to approve the following vouchers for payment:

		HIGHWAY VOUCHERS	
CHECK#	VENDOR NAME	DESCRIPTION	AMOUNT
307068	ENERBASE	FUEL TO WASHBURN, TURTLE LAKE, UNDERWOOD SHOPS	23,903.09
307069	MCLEAN COUNTY IMPLEMENT LLC	HIFLOW DIESEL NOZZLE	242.72
		UNPAID VOUCHERS	
CHECK #	VENDOR NAME	DESCRIPTION	AMOUNT
307070	SARAH BEDGAR	REIMBURSE CELL PHONE	30.00
307071	ASHLEY DEHAVEN	JAIL NURSE	2,244.00
307087	GARRISON DIVERSION CONSERVANCY DIST	DISBURSE MONTHLY COLLECTIONS,	32,208.20
		SPECIAL ASSESSMENT COLLECTIONS #161.21	
307073	BENJAMIN GEHRING	MONTHLY CORONER FEES	750.00
307074	GOETZ FUNERAL HOME	MONTHLY CORONER FEES	750.00
307075	GOVERNSOFT	2023 DAKOTA PROGRAMS SUPPORT CONTRACT	13,583.00
307076	LEWIS & CLARK REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT	YEARLY CONTRIBUTION	12,660.84
307077	MERCER-MCLEAN COUNTY SENIOR MEALS	2020 - 2022 LEVY MONIES COLLECTED &	37,754.14
		SENIOR MILL LEVY MATCH - DECEMBER	
307078	MCLEAN FAMILY RESOURCE	DISBURSE MONTHLY COLLECTIONS	459.96
307079	NDACO	2023 EST WORKERS COMP PREMIUM	61,874.94
307080	NDACO	DISBURSE 10% E-911 COLLECTIONS, 2023 COUNTY DUES	12,820.67
307081	NDACO	2023 NDCCA DUES	1,051.00
307082	ND STATE TREASURER	DISBURSE MONTHLY COLLECTIONS	23,789.06
307083	TYLER TECHNOLOGIES	DOCU PRO WORKFLOW MODULE SUPPORT	775.67
307084	VANGUARD APPRAISALS, INC	2023 SERVICE FEES	11,625.00
307085	WATER PURITY INC	WATER DELIVERED	96.00
		DIRECT DEPOSIT PAYMENTS	
CHECK #	VENDOR NAME	DESCRIPTION	AMOUNT
3462	JAN HANSON	REIMBURSE CELL PHONE	30.00
3463	CURT MALO	REIMBURSE CELL PHONE	30.00
3464	STEVE LEE	REIMBURSE MILEAGE	332.50
3465	JAMES GREY	REIMBURSE FUEL	323.00
3466	TRAVIS VERKE	REIMBURSE CELL PHONE	30.00
3467	RAYMOND COPELAND	REIMBURSE DOG FOOD, SHAMPOO	87.71
3468	RYAN OBERG	REIMBURSE CELL PHONE	30.00
3469	ELIZABETH PATTERSON	REIMBURSE CELL PHONE	30.00
		PAID VOUCHERS	
CHECK #	VENDOR NAME	DESCRIPTION	AMOUNT
307058	VANCE TOMLINSON	REIMBURSE FOR DIESEL	50.37
307059	NORTHSTAR TRUCK SALES, INC	2003 STERLING PLOW DUMP TRUCK	36,050.00
307063	SARAH BEDGAR	REIMBURSE MILEAGE, MEALS	961.14
307063	SARAH BEDGAR	REIMBURSE MOTEL ROOM, SUPPLIES, GOAT SHOWMANSHIP,	800.50
		DUES, TRAINING FEES, POSTAGE, NDSU FALL CONFERENCE	
		ACHIEVING EXTENSION MISSION TUITION	
307064	ENERBASE	FUEL	3,634.46

307065 JOHN DEERE FINANCIAL 307066 MCLEAN COUNTY IMPLEMENT 307067 SCOTT'S HARDWARE DECEMBER PAYROLL AIR FILTERS 469.10
PARTS 704.33
PARTS, BATTERIES 32.42
A DETAILED LIST OF PAYROLL FUNDS EXPENDED IS 397,892.56
AVAILABLE FOR PUBLIC INSPECTION ANYTIME DURING
REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS IN THE MCLEAN COUNTY
AUDITOR'S OFFICE

Roll Call Vote: Aye: Suydam, Lee, and Cottingham. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Knutson presented the current list of delinquent tax payers owing more than \$4,000.00 showing 27 taxpayers owing \$248,814.24 in back taxes.

Knutson presented the Uncollected Tax List for years 2020-2022 showing a total of \$16,268,471.91.

17, 2023.	There being no further business, the chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 8:55 a.m. until the next regularly scheduled meeting on 023. The commission minutes and agenda can be found on the county website at https://www.mcleancountynd.gov .	
	Steve Cottingham, Chairperson	Diane L Blumhagen, Deputy Auditor