Planning & Zoning Commission Proceedings Monday, March 14, 2016

Chairperson Rick Hultberg opened the meeting at 1:30 p.m. Present were Commissioners Hultberg, Darwin Saari, Don Flinn, Doug Krebsbach, Noelle Kroll, and Roger Britton. Also present were Land Use Administrator Todd Schreiner, Assistant to the Land Use Administrator Cassie Goetz, and Secretary Nancy Leidholm. Absent was: Vernon Ostby.

Moved by Krebsbach, seconded by Britton, to approve the minutes of the previous meeting as submitted with the addition that Commissioner Roger Britton was in attendance at the December 14, 2015 meeting, as he isn't listed in attendance or shown as absent in the minutes. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Hultberg, Saari, Krebsbach, Britton, Kroll, and Flinn. Nay: None. Motion carried. Absent and not voting: Ostby.

Gregg and Cloris Schmidt of Bismarck were present to request a variance of the setback requirements of the McLean County Zoning Ordinance for land described as Lot 1, Block 1, Sakakawea Subdivision, located in Township 148 North, Range 85 West, St. Mary Township, to allow the construction of a structure closer than the required 30 foot setback from the rear lot line, as proclaimed in subsection 4 of section 5.2.4 of the revised McLean County Zoning Ordinance as adopted on September 1, 1982 and as amended on March 5, 2013.

Schmidt informed the commission that the lot contains 1.01 acres and the existing neighbors, including the Corps of Engineers, had agreed to the variance. He has spoken with First District Health regarding a septic system and rural water is available.

Moved by Krebsbach, seconded by Saari, to recommend approval of the request from Gregg and Cloris Schmidt to the Board of County Commissioners to allow the construction of a structure closer than the required 30 foot setback from the rear lot line for land described as Lot 1, Block 1, Sakakawea Subdivision, located in Township 148 North, Range 85 West, St. Mary Township. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Hultberg, Saari, Krebsbach, Britton, Kroll, and Flinn. Nay: None. Motion carried. Absent and not voting: Ostby.

Schreiner handed out the current fee and permit schedule for the board to review for discussion at the April 18 meeting.

Discussion followed regarding building roads	s to county specs in subdivisions.
There being no further business, the chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 1:51 p.m.	
Richard Hultberg, Chairperson	Nancy Leidholm, Secretary