Planning & Zoning Commission Proceedings Monday, May 15, 2023

Chairperson Richard Hultberg opened the meeting at 1:30 p.m. Present were Commissioners Hultberg, Don Simon, Darwin Saari, and John Matthews. Also present were Land Use Administrator Todd Schreiner; Property Assessor Elizabeth Patterson; Deputy Auditor Diane L. Blumhagen; and Aaron Fornshell. Absent were Don Flinn and County Commissioner Steve Cottingham.

Moved by Matthews, seconded by Simon, to approve minutes from the previous meeting as submitted. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Simon, Saari, Matthews, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Motion carried. Absent and not voting: Flinn and Cottingham.

Patterson presented a request for a variance submitted by Aaron and Jessamy Fornshell, whose post office address is Minot, ND, requesting a variance of the setback requirements of the McLean County Zoning Ordinance involving land located on Lot 38, Garrison Creek Cottage Site, St. Mary Township. The above-named applicants seek a variance to allow the construction of a structure closer than the required 15 feet from a side lot line, as proclaimed in Subsection 4 of 5.2.4 of the revised McLean County Zoning Ordinance as adopted on September 1, 1982 and as amended on May 24, 2022.

Aaron stated there is an existing garage that will be demolished and a bigger garage constructed in its place with the existing approaches being utilized. Todd stated that St. Mary Township Chairman Glenn Seidler called voicing his concerns if the newly constructed garage will affect the drainage. Aaron stated that it shouldn't and Saari mentioned that it might be a good idea to have the St. Mary Township Board come and look at it anyways.

Moved by Simon, seconded by Saari, to recommend approval to the Board of County Commissioners the request submitted by Aaron and Jessamy Fornshell, whose post office address is Minot, ND, requesting a variance of the setback requirements of the McLean County Zoning Ordinance involving lands located on Lot 38, Garrison Creek Cottage Site, St. Mary Township. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Simon, Saari, Matthews, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Flinn and Cottingham. Motion carried.

There being no further business, the chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 1:45 p.m.

Richard Hultberg, Chairperson

Diane L. Blumhagen, Deputy Auditor