Planning & Zoning Commission Proceedings Monday, July 17, 2023

Chairperson Richard Hultberg opened the meeting at 1:30 p.m. Present were Commissioners Hultberg, Don Simon, Don Flinn, Darwin Saari, and John Matthews. Also present were Land Use Administrator Todd Schreiner; Property Assessor Elizabeth Patterson; Deputy Auditor Diane L. Blumhagen; and Thad Manuwal. Absent was County Commissioner Steve Cottingham.

Moved by Flinn, seconded by Simon, to approve minutes from the previous meeting as submitted. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Simon, Flinn, Saari, Matthews, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Steve Cottingham. Motion carried.

Patterson presented an application submitted by Gravel Products, Inc., Minot, ND, on behalf of landowners Eric and Lona Johnson, requesting approval of a Conditional Use Permit involving land located in the N½NE¼ of Section 26, Township 146 North, Range 80 West including 25 proposed acres. The above-named applicant seeks approval of a Conditional Use Permit to operate a sand and gravel pit for mining, processing and selling of sand and gravel products.

Manuwal stated that the permit is project specific and the agreement with the land owners is complete when the project is done. Schreiner stated there is a Haul Road Agreement in place between the Highway Department and Gravel Products, Inc. and Manuwal stated that dust control will be minimized with watering the road.

Moved by Simon, seconded by Matthews, to recommend approval to the Board of County Commissioners the request submitted by submitted by Gravel Products, Inc., Minot, ND, on behalf of landowners Eric and Lona Johnson, requesting approval of a Conditional Use Permit involving land located in the N½NE¼ of Section 26, Township 146 North, Range 80 West including 25 proposed acres. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Simon, Flinn, Saari, Matthews, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Steve Cottingham. Motion carried.

There being no further business, the chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 1:40 p.m.	
Richard Hultberg, Chairperson	Diane L. Blumhagen, Deputy Auditor