Planning & Zoning Commission Proceedings Monday, July 18, 2022

Chairperson Richard Hultberg opened the meeting at 1:30 p.m. Present were Commissioners Hultberg, Don Flinn, Don Simon, Darwin Saari, John Matthews, and County Commissioner Steve Cottingham. Also present were Land Use Administrator Todd Schreiner, Property Appraiser Elizabeth Patterson, Auditor Beth A. Knutson, and Russell Pegors.

Moved by Matthews, seconded by Simon, to approve minutes from the previous meeting as submitted. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Flinn, Simon, Cottingham, Saari, Matthews, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Patterson presented an application requesting approval of a variance submitted by Russell and Dawn Pegors, whose post office address is Coleharbor, ND, requesting a variance of the setback requirements of the McLean County Zoning Ordinance involving land located in Lot 16, Replat of Totten Trail Cottage Site (Snow Township). The above-named applicant seeks a variance to allow the construction of a structure closer than the required 15 feet from the side lot lines, as proclaimed in Subsection 4 of Section 5.2.4 of the revised McLean County Zoning Ordinance as adopted on September 1, 1982 and as amended on March 26, 2020.

Pegors explained that a 57' x 90' shop with a covered patio will be built on the property and will require a setback of 12 $\frac{1}{2}$ ' to 13 $\frac{1}{2}$ ' but no closer than 6' from the adjacent property line. Pegors stated there will not be living quarters or septic and water at this time. Discussion followed.

Moved by Matthews, seconded by Simon, to recommend approval to the Board of County Commissioners the request submitted by Russell and Dawn Pegors, of Coleharbor, ND, requesting the approval of a variance of the setback requirements of the McLean County Zoning Ordinance involving land located in Lot 16, Replat of Totten Trail Cottage Site (Snow Township) to allow the construction of a structure closer than the required 15 feet from the side lot lines. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Flinn, Simon, Cottingham, Saari, Matthews, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Motion carried.

Minutes from today's meeting were read by Knutson.

Moved by Matthews seconded by Simon to approve minutes of today's meeting as presented. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Flinn, Simon, Cottingham, Saari, Matthews, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Motion carried.

There being no further business, the chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 1:38 p.m.

Richard Hultberg, Chairperson

Beth A, Knutson, Auditor