## Planning & Zoning Commission Proceedings Monday, August 19, 2019

Chairperson Richard Hultberg opened the meeting at 1:30 p.m. Present were Commissioners Hultberg, John Matthews, Darwin Saari, Roger Britton, Don Flinn, and Noelle Kroll. Also present were Land Use Administrator Todd Schreiner and Secretary Nancy Leidholm. Absent was Commissioner Cottingham.

Moved by Flinn, seconded by Matthews, to approve the minutes of the previous meeting as submitted. Roll call vote: Aye: Matthews, Saari, Britton, Flinn, Kroll and Hultberg. Nay: None. Motion carried. Absent and not voting: Cottingham.

Richard Jensen of Ruso was present to request a variance of the setback requirements of the McLean County Zoning Ordinance for land described as Lot 1, Slater's Resort First Addition, Otis Township, located in Township 150 North, Range 80 West, to allow the construction of a structure closer than the required 15 foot setback from the side lot line on Lot 1 as proclaimed in subsection 4 of section 5.2.4 of the revised McLean County Zoning Ordinance as adopted on September 1, 1982 and as amended on January 1, 2019.

Schreiner presented letters of support from adjoining lot owners. Jensen explained that he wants to build a garage with possible living quarters on the side of the lot to stay away from the drain field. A letter explaining the request has been sent to the township with no response.

Moved by Matthews, seconded by Britton, to recommend to the Board of County Commissioners approval of the request from Richard Jensen of Ruso for a variance of the setback requirements of the McLean County Zoning Ordinance for land described as Lot 1, Slater's Resort First Addition, Otis Township, located in Township 150 North, Range 80 West, to allow the construction of a structure closer than the required 15 foot setback from the side lot line on Lot 1. Roll call vote: Aye: Matthews, Saari, Britton, Flinn, Kroll and Hultberg. Nay: None. Motion carried. Absent and not voting: Cottingham.

There being no further business the chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 1:39 p.m.

Rick Hultberg, Chairperson

Nancy Leidholm, Secretary