## Planning & Zoning Commission Proceedings Monday, September 17, 2018

Chairperson Rick Hultberg opened the meeting at 1:32 p.m. Present were Commissioners Hultberg, Roger Britton, Noelle Kroll, Don Flinn and Doug Krebsbach. Also present were Land Use Administrator Todd Schreiner, Land Use Assistant Cassie Goetz, and Secretary Nancy Leidholm. Absent were Commissioners John Matthews and Darwin Saari.

Moved by Flinn, seconded by Britton, to approve the minutes from the previous meeting as submitted. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Flinn, Kroll, Britton, Krebsbach, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Matthews and Saari. Motion carried.

Jared Schmidt of Bismarck was present to request approval for a variance of the setback requirements of the McLean County Zoning Ordinance for land described as Lots 3 & 4, Neena's Subdivision, Otis Township, Township 150 North, Range 80 West, to allow construction closer than the required 15 foot side setbacks as proclaimed in subsection 4, of section 5.2.4 of the revised McLean County Zoning Ordinance as adopted on September 1, 1982, and as amended on March 5, 2013. Schreiner informed the commission that the request includes all four sides of the lots.

Moved by Krebsbach, seconded by Flinn, to recommend approval to the Board of County Commissioners approval of the variance request from Jared Schmidt of Bismarck for land described as Lots 3 & 4, Neena's Subdivision, Otis Township, Township 150 North, Range 80 West, to allow construction closer than the required 15 foot side setbacks. Schmidt explained that he will be tearing down buildings to put up new; the new structure will actually be further from the side lot line than the original. He also told the commission that this will not be a year round residence. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Flinn, Kroll, Britton, Krebsbach, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Matthews and Saari. Motion carried.

| Discussion followed regarding possible upon | oming changes to the county's wind farm ordinance. |
|---|--|
| There being no further business, the chairp | person adjourned the meeting at 1:39 p.m.          |
|   |  |
| Rick Hultberg, Chairperson                  | Nancy Leidholm, Secretary                          |