Planning & Zoning Commission Proceedings Monday, September 19, 2022

Chairperson Richard Hultberg opened the meeting at 1:30 p.m. Present were Commissioners Hultberg, Darwin Saari, Don Flinn, and Don Simon. Also present were Property Assessor Elizabeth Patterson, Deputy Auditor Diane L. Blumhagen, and Spencer Mills. Absent were John Matthews and County Commissioner Steve Cottingham.

Moved by Saari, seconded by Simon, to approve minutes from the previous meeting as submitted. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Simon, Flinn, Saari, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Cottingham and Matthews. Motion carried.

Patterson presented an application submitted by StorMor LLP, whose post office address is Bismarck, ND, requesting approval of a variance of the setback requirements of the McLean County Zoning Ordinance involving land described as Outlot C and D in SE¼SW¼ of Section 31, Township 147 North, Range 82 West. The above-named applicant seeks a variance to allow the construction of a commercial building closer than the required 250 feet setback from the centerline of the road (State Highway 200) as proclaimed in Subsection 4 of Section 5.2.4 of the revised McLean County Zoning Ordinance as adopted on September 1, 1982 and as amended on March 26, 2020.

Patterson stated that an approval letter has been received from North Dakota Department of Transportation. Mills explained that the project will house 17 cold storage units and the area will be fenced while utilizing the existing approach.

Moved by Flinn, seconded by Simon, to recommend approval to the Board of County Commissioners the request submitted by StorMor LLP, whose post office address is Bismarck, ND, requesting approval of a variance of the setback involving land described as Outlot C and D in SE½SW¼ of Section 31, Township 147 North, Range 82 West. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Simon, Flinn, Saari, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Cottingham and Matthews. Motion carried.

There being no further business, the chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 1:35 p.m.	
Richard Hultberg, Chairperson	Diane L. Blumhagen, Deputy Auditor