## Planning & Zoning Commission Proceedings Monday, November 19, 2018

Chairperson Rick Hultberg opened the meeting at 1:30 p.m. Present were Commissioners Hultberg, Don Flinn, John Matthews, Roger Britton, Darwin Saari and Noelle Kroll. Also present were Land Use Administrator Todd Schreiner, Land Use Assistant Cassie Goetz and Secretary Nancy Leidholm. Absent was Commissioner Doug Krebsbach

Moved by Saari, seconded by Flinn, to approve the minutes from the previous meeting as submitted. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Flinn, Matthews, Britton, Saari, Kroll, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Krebsbach. Motion carried.

Ryan Streff of Powder River Development, Minneapolis, MN, on behalf of APC Towers III, L.L.C. of Raleigh, N. C., was present along with Bonnie and James Suydam of Ruso, to request approval of a conditional use permit for land described as Outlot A, located in the SW¼ of Section 1, Township 149 North, Range 87 West, for the installation of a new cellular tower and shelter. Streff explained that this would include a 300' guyed telecommunications tower with an 8' x 8' equipment platform. He provided FFA requirements, construction drawings, and an agreement for construction with Bonnie and James Suydam, the current land owners. Streff stated that this tower is designed for up to four carriers adding that T-Mobile will utilize the tower immediately following construction, with construction beginning early 2019. An existing approach will be used and the area will be fenced. Setback requirements were discussed and Streff stated that they exceed the setback requirements of 250 feet from the centerline of the roadway at 268 feet. Streff told the commission that there is an Abandonment Clause included in the contract so that the tower and foundation will be removed if the lease is ever terminated. He also stated that any tower over 200 feet must be lit.

Moved by Flinn, seconded by Matthews, to recommend to the Board of County Commissioners approval of the request from APC Towers III, L.L.C. of Raleigh, N. C., for a conditional use permit for land described as Outlot A in the SW¼ of Section 1, Township 149 North, Range 87 West, for the installation of a new cellular tower and shelter. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Flinn, Matthews, Britton, Saari, Kroll, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Krebsbach. Motion carried.

Richard and Betty Schlichting of Roseglen along with Josh Reiner of Moore Engineering were present to request approval of a subdivision plat involving land located in the E½E½ of Section 32, Township 148 North, Range 85 West, to develop a nine-lot rural subdivision to be known as Schlichting Subdivision 2<sup>nd</sup> Addition. Reiner presented maps of the proposed subdivision to be located just east of the Douglas Bay area. He stated that the roads will meet county specs; a drainage easement will be made in regards to Lots 5 and 6 because of a low area; a utility easement along back lot lines for Garrison Rural Water; and McLean Electric will use the road right-of-way to bring power into the lots. Discussion followed regarding the covenants. Kroll suggested adding wordage to item #9 in the covenants: The weeds must be mowed or sprayed to reduce fire hazard <u>at a minimum of once per year</u>. Betty Schlichting agreed to add the wordage to the covenants.

Moved by Matthews, seconded by Britton, to recommend to the Board of County Commissioners approval of the request to approve a subdivision plat from Richard and Betty Schlichting of Ruso for land described as the E½E½ of Section 32, Township 148 North, Range 85 West, to develop a nine-lot rural subdivision to be known as Schlichting Subdivision 2<sup>nd</sup> Addition. Roll Call Vote: Aye: Flinn, Matthews, Britton, Saari, Kroll, and Hultberg. Nay: None. Absent and not voting: Krebsbach. Motion carried.

Schreiner reported that State's Attorney Ladd Erickson has made changes to the language of the County's wind tower ordinance and will present it at a later date.

There being no further business the Chairperson declared the meeting adjourned at 1:55 p.m.

Richard Hultberg, Chairperson

Nancy Leidholm, Secretary