Important 2020 Election Dates

Date

Description

January 1, 2020 Earliest Day to Begin Circulating Petitions
January 2, 2020 Earliest Day to File Petitions/Certificates of Endorsement
March 17, 2020 Township Elections Held
April 1, 2020 - June 30, 2020 School District Elections Held (At the discretion of School Board)
Monday, April 6, 2020

Last Day to Circulate and/or File Petitions/Certificates of Endorsement. Deadline for filing materials with the designated entity is 4:00 p.m.

April 2020

Vote by Mail Ballot Applications will be Mailed by the North Dakota Secretary of State's office for the Primary Election.

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

CANCELLED: Voting Center Election Training Workshops to be held at Courthouse for all County Election Inspectors, Judges and Clerks working at Voting Centers.

Monday, June 1, 2020 Public Logic & Accuracy Test
Tuesday, June 2, 2020 Last Day that Vote by Mail Ballot Applications will be mailed out.
Wednesday, June 3, 2020

Election Training Workshops to be held at Courthouse for all Election Inspectors and Judges serving on the Absentee Board

Thursday, June 4, 2020 CANCELLED: Election Training Workshops to be held at Courthouse for all Election Inspectors, Judges and Clerks serving Precinct 280402.
Thursday, June 4, 2020

Last Day that Absentee/Vote by Mail Ballots will be mailed by the Auditor's office -- voters wishing to vote absentee after today will need to come to the Auditor's office at the Courthouse to vote.

Tuesday, June 9, 2020 VOTE BY MAIL ONLY PRIMARY ELECTION for Congressional, Statewide, Legislative & County Officers 
Tuesday, June 9, 2020 City Elections Held (Commission and Council form) (IF HELD WITH COUNTY AND STATE ELECTIONS, WILL BE VOTE BY MAIL ONLY)
Monday, June 15 , 2020 County Canvassing Board Meets
Tuesday, August 31, 2020 Last Day to Circulate and/or File Petitions/Certificates of Endorsement. Deadline for filing materials with the designated entity is 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, September 2, 2020

Last Day for Candidates to Withdraw Name from the General Election Ballot -- must be done in writing and filed with the proper filing officer.

Thursday, September 17, 2020

Vote by Mail Ballot Applications will be Mailed by the County Auditor's office for the General Election.

Thursday, September 24, 2020 Start of Mailing of Absentee Ballots to Voters Who Have Submitted Applications
Wednesday, October 21, 2020

Voting Center Election Training Workshop to be held at Courthouse for County Election Inspector, Judges and Clerks working at GARRISON Vote Center

Thursday, October 22, 2020 Voting Center Election Training Workshop to be held at Courthouse for County Election Inspector, Judges and Clerks working at TURTLE LAKE Vote Center
Friday, October 23, 2020 Voting Center Election Training Workshop to be held at Courthouse for County Election Inspector, Judges and Clerks working at WASHBURN Vote Center
Monday, October 26, 2020 Public Logic & Accuracy Test
Tuesday, October 27, 2020

Last Day that Absentee Ballot Applications will be mailed out.

Wednesday, October 28, 2020 Election Training Workshops to be held at Courthouse for all Election Inspectors, Judges and Clerks serving on the Absentee Board.
Thursday, October 29, 2020 Election Training Workshops to be held at Courthouse for all Election Inspectors, Judges and Clerks serving Precinct 280402.
Thursday, October 29, 2020

Last Day that Absentee/Vote by Mail Ballots will be mailed by the Auditor's office -- voters wishing to vote absentee after today will need to come to the Auditor's office at the Courthouse to vote.

Monday, November 2, 2020 LAST DAY TO DROP OFF VOTED ABSENTEE BALLOTS AT COURTHOUSE  - Secure DROPBOX closes at 5:00 P.M.  C.S.T.
Monday, November 2, 2020 LAST DAY TO RETURN VOTED ABSENTEE BALLOTS BY MAIL - Ballot must be postmarked today or ballot will not be counted.
Tuesday, November 3, 2020 General Election for Congressional, Statewide, Legislative & County Officers
Monday, November 9, 2020 County Canvassing Board Meets